NA body rejects bill seeking increase in number of SC judges

AA-ZKNational Assembly’s Standing Committee on Law and Justice on Monday unanimously rejected a bill seeking increase in the number of Supreme Court judges.

The NA body met under the chairmanship of Chaudhray Mahmood Bashir Virk. The meeting was attended by other members including Ali Muhammad Khan, Chaudhary Muhammad Ashraf, Mohammad Moeen Wattoo, Muhammad Raza Hayat Harraj, Rajab Ali Khan Baloch, Shagufta Jumani and Alisha.

The committee observed that the various stakeholders relating to the judiciary are not in favour of increasing the number of apex court’s judges.


The NA body underlined the importance to strengthen the lower court system to provide relief to the public. Minister of State for Law and Justice, Barrister Zafrullah Khan informed the committee that the ministry was preparing a cost draft bill in a bid to introduce reforms in judicial system. After the approval of the bill, the people filing false petitions would be bound to pay the total cost of the case, he said, adding that this practice would release a load on the lower courts.

MNA Dr Arif Alvi said laws are available; however, these need to be implemented. He said he had prepared a bill of mediation and arbitration that would reduce load on courts.

The NA body also decided to prepare a proposal to increase the salaries and allowances of MNAs. The committee decided to club the identical bills regarding the National Accountability Bureau.

The Standing Committee also unanimously passed the amendment in The Protection Against Harassment of Women at Work Place (Amendment) Bill, 2014 [Amendments of Section 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 10, 11 & Schedule, Act IV of 2010]. The body also approved “The Central Law Officers (Amendment) Bill, 2016” [Amendment of Sections 2, 3, 3A, 4, 4A, Ordinance VII of 1970] (Government Bill).

According to the bill, the standing counsels of the federal government will be given the title of Assistant Attorney General and they will be restricted from private practice.

Published by: Pakistan Today